The Road Ahead

When I began graduate school I always knew that I wanted to own my own business.  I felt like pursing a career as a counselor could merge both my “business” side with the “helping” side and hopefully create a successful practice with an encouraging story. While the story of my life as a counselor and my business is still being written, I have never wavered in my decision to enter into this field and I am thankful for the knowledge I have gained to use in my professional life as well as with my family and friends.   When you sign up to be a counselor, its a 24/7 job (They don’t tell you that in grad school!)

This has been a tough (aka busy) week!  I have focused my new business on two things thus far; quality care to my clients, and establishing solid community partners.  I have spent countless hours in my car driving from place to place, meeting new people, establishing a specialty in my field, making connections that would help push my career to the next level.  Every now and then this catches up to me and I get a surge of new business that I can’t possibly take.  This is a great problem to have, and luckily I have a wonderful agency that I partner with to take on excess Clients.

I don’t know about you but I am a firm believer in fate, and weeks like these make be embrace it even more.  As tiring as this field can be I use “tough” weeks to reflect and validate the reason this career chose me in the first place.  When I’m feeling over whelmed or defeated I try and re-focus my attention on something positive, and that usually helps. Call it what you wish but I always try to make every effort to practice what I preach!

This week, in the midst of all the chaos, I went to my local book store and bought two magazines.  This has been the perfect kind of positive distraction for me.  Not only has it forced me to relax and breathe it has given me insight into some interesting new topics that will surely present themselves in my blog and in my practice.  I have been reading about the psychology behind pets-which is fascinating, especially since I’ve recently purchased a dog to train as a therapy animal.  I have been working to integrate wellness into my practice and have done so this week by learning about the links between depression and infection.  All the more reason to refer my client’s to see a primary care physician regularly.    Lastly, I have been enjoying some reads on kids and anxiety which I have seen so much of in the past few months.  I look forward to reviewing some of the articles with you as well as sharing some interesting facts…. Not sure how it’s related but it’s my daughter’s favorite one- A grasshopper’s blood is white!

New marketing materials have come in this week and they look great! This is a random blog but I suppose my thoughts are also random today!

Leave a Reply

