Penny for Piper’s Thoughts

Hello World!  I’m Piper and I’m working towards becoming a service dog like my mom and dad, aunts and uncles!  My handler has been doing a lot of research (since I’m just 3 months old and can’t read) on why people love pets so much!  She told me a story about a man named Boris Levinson who was one of the first people to believe that humans might experience some therapeutic effects from animals.  Can you believe people laughed at that idea?  I bet they’re not laughing now!

When I get a little older and can start seeing client’s and visiting nursing homes, hospitals, and other places where people need cheering up, I will be sure to remember how much I’ll be helping others.  There’s a story about a man named Beetz who found that children who had a dog with them had the lowest levels of stress when put into a very difficult situation.  He also found that the more the children petted the dog during this stressful time, the less stressed the were as evidenced by salivary cortisol (I don’t know what that is, I’m just 3 months old, but it sounds really important).  If this is true, and it is, then imagine how much less kiddos will worry when they pet me!

My handler works with a lot of people who have Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.  One of her client’s said this about their animal, “I have PTSD.  Cats help me with my hypervigilance because they pick up on things first.  Petting them puts me at peace.”  This makes me so happy!  I can’t wait to learn more about how to be a better therapy dog!

I’d love for you to follow my blog and check back in with me as I learn and grow.  I’ll be sure to have lots of stories about my human friends as well as some canine ones too!

SEE MORE ON OUR WEBSITE:

http://www.kaseyrcompton.com

Leave a Reply

